Hyundai Veloster N Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everybody,
I'm currently DD / ocasional track my 2019 Audi RS3 . I'm considering getting a VN as a fun light weekend/track (road course) car.
I'm an advance group driver that usually drive at 8/10 at the track as was wondering what are the must upgrades I need to do before taking the VN to the track and not feeling disappointed?
Besides the obvious upgrades of pads , brake fluid and tires what else is needed?

As a reference- The Audi really needed pads , brake fluid, tires, better cooling rotors , larger intercooler ( with stock the car was pulling timing after 3 laps) , rear sway bar upgrade to reduce horrible understeer.

Thanks for your input

·
Registered
1 Posts
I've tracked the N several times and can say the stock brake pads are phenomenal. Have done 20 minute sessions all out with zero brake fade. The car stock is an amazing car for track but there is always room for improvement. The biggest thing I can say is ditch the anchor of wheels that we have and ditch those stock tires, they aren't all that great. Get yourself some lightweight 18s with some sticky tires. Next get some camber bolts for the front and get yourself a proper alignment and add camber to the front (I run -1.9 F -1.7 R). Next I would get a FMIC, not sure where you are located but here in Florida, in the heat, you can really feel the N heatsoaking bad about halfway through the session, it falls flat on its face trying to power through the straights. I'm also waiting for someone to make an oil cooler for this car. It has yet to go into limp mode for me but the oil temps do get pretty high up there which is concerning. I most likely going to end up fabricating my own and seeing how that goes.

·
Registered
98 Posts
Stock, you can just send it. But to really wake the car up:

• Better tires, smaller wheels
  • Larger rear bar and end links
  • Caster bushings
  • Camber bolts
  • FMIC or water/meth