Hyundai Veloster N Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone know what triggers the rev match for each gear? Is it a sensor for each gate for the gear? Is it more mechanical? I have a weird issue or something that I think is weird. Whenever I am in a lower gear and coming to a stop, say second gear or sometimes 1st gear if I'm creeping up around a stop sign or red light I will depress the clutch while still in 1st or second and the rev's will go down as it's in neutral then it will blip back up as if it is trying to match back up into that gear. I make no change in clutch pressure but I may still have my hand on the shifter. This usually happens within 1 second of clutch depression. I am a novice with manual transmission. The last manual I owned was very long ago and obviously didn't have any rev matching. Is some sort of sensor being triggered wanting to blip the throttle back in preparation of me releasing my clutch and matching the speed? This isn't a consistent thing and I'm trying to find a way to replicate it to see if it's an issue or not. I have only had one situation where I thought it could be bad. I was driving from a stop at a red light to another red light. I take off in first and get to about 5k rpm as I was kind of driving a little fast. Then I would depress the clutch preparing for second as the next light just turned red. I had the clutch depressed but the shifter was still in first. Then about approximately a second later the revs jumped up trying to match wheel speed with engine speed. I'm not sure if I am explaining this well but I will try to get video if I can or once I experience it a bit more I can explain it better.

TLDR; Rev's are jumping up to match wheel speed in lower gear with clutch depressed and shifter in 1st or second.

·
Registered
287 Posts