Hyundai Veloster N Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2020 RR PP
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recently I purchased the AFE midpipe because the shoddy work on my resonator delete didn't make me feel comfortable using it for long.

When I disconnected the midpipe from the flex pipe, I noticed the lower part of the exhaust gasket was burnt to crap.

When I first installed the afe midpipe, I didn't tighten some of the clamps all the way and say water flowing out on an early morning which made me aware of the exhaust leak. I drove my son to school, came home and fixed it. From the axleback side, I noticed my new gasket was starting to get kind of burnt on the lower part as well.

Then, I also have this noise in the attached video.

Since I'm new to understanding vehicles still and just 'try' to put mods on as a learning experience, I'm trying to figure out if something is wrong, what I did wrong and how I can fix it myself.

I've pre-emptively ordered two new exhaust gaskets for each side of the midpipe.

I also noticed the right side of the exhaust tips are much blacker and retain heat way more than the left side. I can get pictures of that if anyone needs them.

My main concerns right now are:
  • What's this rattle in non n-mode?
  • Did I potentially install the gaskets incorrectly? How much damage can that cause before I can get them replaced professionally?
  • Why are parts of my pipe burnt, like the right exhaust tip and lower connections of the midpipe?
Any help would be much appreciated.

New video by Matthew Javelet - Here's the video with the weird exhaust sound. This was with no throttle and just from a cold start. I can make another vid with throttle applied to amplify the rattle in case you have trouble hearing it.

Basically, I want to make sure all my mods are properly installed. I bought the HPFP from SXTH and don't want to put it on until I know my car is mechanically in top shape.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

·