Hyundai Veloster N Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I have a 2020 PP without about 3500 miles. It's my first manual car so I'm still learning. Sometimes when I try engage first gear at a very slow speed the car bucks back and forth until I speed up or press the clutch back in. Is this just my crappy clutch control or something else?

·
Registered
15 Posts
Hi guys,

I have a 2020 PP without about 3500 miles. It's my first manual car so I'm still learning. Sometimes when I try engage first gear at a very slow speed the car bucks back and forth until I speed up or press the clutch back in. Is this just my crappy clutch control or something else?
Now I am no expert like most of the other people on here when it comes to driving a manual but this is my second manual car, first one being a 1993 Honda civic, but it seems like you're about to stall your car based on your description. You say when you give it more gas it goes away or when you push the clutch back in, it also goes away. So from those two observations it would seem like you just need to give it a little more gas when you're releasing the clutch.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Now I am no expert like most of the other people on here when it comes to driving a manual but this is my second manual car, first one being a 1993 Honda civic, but it seems like you're about to stall your car based on your description. You say when you give it more gas it goes away or when you push the clutch back in, it also goes away. So from those two observations it would seem like you just need to give it a little more gas when you're releasing the clutch.
I was thinking this too Marshall229. It's possible the rev match would help a little but it does sound like you need more gas and balance the clutch a bit more at the biting point. Manuals are sensitive at low speeds so don't be afraid to use the clutch a bit more.

·
Registered
289 Posts